– For the love of music!  Serving Boston and Greater New England.

The White Stripes Set To Release Their First Live Album “Under Great White Northern Lights” On March 16th

January 21, 2010 by  
Filed under Daily Music News

In the summer of 2007, The White Stripes embarked on a cross-country Canadian tour to accomplish their goal of performing in every province and territory across the expansive northern nation.  On March 16th, the duo will be releasing their first-ever official live album, featuring 16 songs on both vinyl and CD, as well as the Emmett Malloy-directed documentary film, Under Great White Northern Lights.  These two incredible pieces are a unique documentation of that journey, providing a fascinating look into the on and off stage lives of one of the world’s most enigmatic bands.  

Having first premiered at the Toronto Film Festival in September 2009, Under Great White Northern Lights documents the band playing to crowds in towns of all sizes across the Great White North – from traditional venues to matinee gigs at unusual locations such as a bowling alley, a boat and even on a city bus – culminating in a momentous 10th Anniversary show at the historic Savoy Theatre in Glace Bay, Nova Scotia.  A captivating mix of striking live footage and poignant off-stage moments, this visually stirring and emotive feature length film celebrates the band’s 10 year history, bringing the band full circle in their career to a place reminiscent of how they first started out; shows where no one knew who they were, and where they were left to make a first impression with their music.

The live album continues that celebration and is a perfect companion piece to the film, featuring 16 songs recorded at various shows throughout the Canadian tour – a collection that captures all the aural intensity and spontaneity that The White Stripes have become known for.  A compelling reflection of the band’s career, both the live album and the documentary will allow fans to reminisce about where they were when they first heard The White Stripes, while also adding extraordinary pieces of work to their already stunning artistic cannon.

Track Listing:

Track Listing:
1.  Let’s Shake Hands
2.  Black Math
3.  Little Ghost
4.  Blue Orchid
5.  The Union Forever
6.  Ball and Biscuit
7.  Icky Thump
8.  I’m Slowly Turning Into You
9.  Jolene
10.  300 MPH Torrential Outpour Blues
11.  We Are Going to Be Friends
12.  I Just Don’t Know What to Do With Myself
13.  Prickly Thorn, But Sweetly Worn
14.  Fell In Love With a Girl
15.  When I Hear My Name
16.  Seven Nation Army

Be Sociable, Share!


One Response to “The White Stripes Set To Release Their First Live Album “Under Great White Northern Lights” On March 16th”


Check out what others are saying about this post...
  1. The White Stripes Set To Release Their First Live Album "Under …: The White Stripes Set To Release Their First L…

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.